Thursday, 10 October 2013

Cecafa rule Cote d’Ivoire out of Cecafa Challenge Cup

CECAFA Secretary General Nicholas Musonye

Cecafa senior Challenge Cup

Nov 27th – Dec 12, 2013

Kenya (Nairobi, Kisumu, Mumias, Nakuru)

CECAFA local organizing committee has ruled out inviting Cote d’Ivoire to compete in the 2013 Central Africa (Cecafa) Senior Challenge Cup slated to run from November 27th through December 2013 in Kenya.

The Cecafa Secretary General Nicholas Musonye said on Wednesday, “Cote d’Ivoire will not be invited to compete in the tournament because it is expensive to fly the Elephants in Nairobi for the competition,”

“We have agreed on having Malawi and Zambia only because it’s quite cheap than inviting the West Africans,”

Musonye hinted that inviting Cote d’Ivoire would cost the organizers over $25,000 to cater for their airfare among other necessities.

Three Western Kenya Cities of Mumias, Kisumu, Nakuru and the capital, Nairobi are the four ear marked to host Africa’s oldest football tournament, first played in 1926.

Mombasa may host some of the matches but its availability was still a strong subject of consultations and debates.

Kenya will be privileged to host the Fifa 2014 World Cup trophy at the opening ceremony for the regional tournament on November 27 that will also be graced CAF President Isa Hayatou.

Twelve countries including Eric Nshimiyimana’s Rwanda, Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, Zanzibar, Sudan, Djibouti, Somalia, Eritrea, Ethiopia, South Sudan and hosts Kenya have already confirmed participation.

This year’s event will coincide with Kenya’s 50 years of Independence celebrations dubbed ‘Kenya at 50′. The tournament will be covered live courtesy of Super-Sport beaming the matches across the African continent while partnering with KBC as the host broadcaster.

Uganda is record Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup winners with an overwhelming 13 Titles, having won the last edition in 2012 on home turf at Namboole National Stadium.

Kenya have five titles to boast about, having won the championship in 1971, 1981, 1982, 1983 and 2002, while Sudan (1980, 2006 and 2007), Malawi (1978, 1979 and 1988) and Tanzania (1974, 1994 and 2001) have won the historic tournament 3 times apiece.

Zambia (1984 and 1991) and Zimbabwe (1985), who shifted to the COSAFA regional tournament, have won the annual tourney twice and once respectively. Zanzibar (1995), Rwanda (1999) and Zanzibar (1995) have won it only once.

Rwanda B won the title in 1999 after defeating Kenya 3-1 in Kigali and suffered a disappointment when the Amavubi lost to Ethiopia 0-1 in the 2005 final in front of fans at Amahoro stadium.

Rwanda was handed a shocking quarter-final exit at last year’s event in Kampala after a 0-2 loss to Tanzania despite defeating Eritrea and guests Malawi before getting stunned by Zanzibar in the preliminary round.

Cecafa rule Cote d’Ivoire out of Cecafa Challenge Cup


Blogger said...

You probably need extra COINS!
Start auto-trading with FUT Millionaire.

Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Walgreens Printable Coupons