Thursday, 3 October 2013

Cecafa challenge Cup pushed to Nov. 27


THE 2013 Cecafa Challenge Cup has been postponed to November 27 to December 12 in Kenyan capital of Nairobi, according to the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (Cecafa) and Football Kenya Federation (FKF).

The organizing committee met on Tuesday in Nairobi for the first local organizing committee meeting that was also attended by Nairobi Senator Gideon Mbuvi Sonko, Cecafa secretary General Nicholas Musonye, FKF representatives led by Chairman Sam Nyamweya among others.

According to a press statement, this year’s event will coincide with the Kenya @50 celebrations that mark 50 years since the country attained independence.

“The Local organizing committee in conjunction with FKF/Cecafa is preparing a one day conference with international bodies on promoting peace with emphasis on the Somalia. Kenya is ready to host one of the best ever Tournaments and has received endorsement from FIFA, Caf and Kenya Government,” says Nyamweya.

Malawi, Zambia and Ivory Coast are the three invited teams for this year’s senior challenge cup.

The tournament will be hosted in four venues: Nairobi, Kisumu, Mumias and Nakuru with Mombasa remaining as an option only if the municipal stadium will have been completed in time.

During the Cecafa congress held in Kampala, Uganda, last year Rwanda and Kenya were picked as potential hosts.

But the Rwanda FA opted to host next year’s event as a dress rehearsal for the 2016 CHAN competition.

The last time Kenya hosted the championship was in 2009 but attendances were depressingly low.

Afcon 2015 preps

The two-week event will also give Coach Eric Nshimiyimana an opportunity to identify his team for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers which kick off early next year.

Having been edged out of the 2014 World Cup qualifiers, Rwanda will be looking forward to doing better in the regional tournament where they reached the quarter final last year in Kampala.

Member countries that will take part include Tanzania, Zanzibar, Burundi, Eritrea, Somalia, Djibouti, Sudan, South Sudan, Burundi, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Kenya and defending champions Uganda.

Rwanda last won the Cecafa Challenge Cup fourteen years ago when Rwanda B lifted the only regional title that the country possesses after beating Kenya 3-1 in Kigali.

Despite reaching the Cecafa challenge finals five times; Amavubi has failed to break the away jinx.

Cecafa challenge Cup pushed to Nov. 27


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Walgreens Printable Coupons