Monday, 10 June 2013

Best innovative districts rewarded


Ralga leadership take oath of office on Friday after best innovative districts were recognised. 
Rwanda Association of Local Government Authorities (Ralga) has rewarded cash prizes to five districts which won the 2013 Local Government Innovation Competitions.

The competition aimed at encouraging Local Governments to focus on poverty reduction and local development through job creation.

The districts include Nyagatare, which which emerged top and received Rwf 7million and Gakenke, which emerged second and received Rwf 6million. Kamonyi and Nyamagabe received Rwf 5 million and Rwf4 million respectively while Burera district was awarded Rwf 4 million.

The competition started in March under the theme; Initiatives that contribute to the creation of off-farm jobs. It was open to all 30 districts but only 10 were short-listed.  

Fred Sabiti Atuhe, the Mayor of Nyagatare District, was ecastic.    

“Our win is a result of  working closely with our development partners and we shall continue working in that direction to ensure that keep improving,” he said.

The chairperson of the Ralga, Justus Kangwagye, commended the best performing districts, and called upon others to emulate them. 

He said such performance portrays what Ralga stands for.


“Through advocacy, our subscribers have increased and government support has also increased significantly, we are sure that we shall be able to deliver effectively,” Kangwagye said.

The association was created to empower local governments and other institutions involved with in the promotion of good governance to effectively execute their tasks in the pursuit of economic growth, poverty reduction and consolidation of social freedom.

According to Kangwagye, the association has a lot to celebrate since its creation in 2003.

“Ralga members benefited a lot from training sessions in various areas, as well as forums and study visits within and outside the country. These allowed them to learn from best practices and exchange of experiences,” Kangwagye said in a separate statement.

The promotion of local economic development, the statement said, was yet another key achievement which is expected to build the capacity of Local Government entities in identifying and exploiting opportunities available at grassroots level. During the same event, new association leaders were elected with each province picking two members. The executive committee which comprises seven members was also re-elected.


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Walgreens Printable Coupons